In Contention

tree-1

Exactly which lenses/camera bodies comprise the ‘perfect’ kit?

toy-1

In an effort to keep costs down, and to reduce the number of items to only those that matter, I’m trying to work out what exactly I need.

dogs-1

So, I have the two D800 bodies, and the two Tamron zooms. All good.

max-1-37

But what, if anything else, might I need?

kirawindow-1

I reckon I can safely say that a Macro is not necesary, as I’ve teased various lenses for their  near macro abilities, and in terms of ring shots etc, the 70-200mm does a good job at the long end, with the 36mpx of the D800 giving room to crop.

35mmring-1

But, what about primes? Zooms have a max aperture of F2.8, which isn’t bad, but might make all the difference in dimly lit spaces. And I swear that anything indoors, outside of british summertime (all three weeks of it), is low light!

miniature-1

I question how much use apertures between F1.4 and F2.8 get during weddings etc. For portrait yes, but for the majority of the day, no.

chris-1-3

So whether I may need a 50mm F1.4 or an 85mm F1.8 (or both) is something that will occur to me as the year goes on. I mentioned to a friend just today that the difference in quality between a Fuji 35mm F1.4 on an XE2 and a Sigma 50mm F1.4 ART on a D800 would be vast, and her interesting reply was along the lines of….’noticeable to who, and by how much at ordinary viewing sizes?

redroses-1

Very good point.

maxtree-1

🙂

Leave a Reply

