Small Packages

Don’t necessarily contain the best things.

fujiring-1

On many levels my D800s’ would be hard to beat, and as yet I don’t think there is an MILC system that can beat it.

max-1-20

Yes, The Sony A7R matches it for resolution, and yes the A7s tops it in low light performance, and  M43 certainly has a great selection of lenses, but they all fall short in one area or another.

tulips-1

Now, onto Fuji. Lovely analogue looks in the XE2, optically revered lenses, so whats missing (apart from a flash system)?

ty-1-25

Well, quite simply its not the XPro 1 is it?

duds-1-2

I loved that camera, and with the 35mm F1.4 it was really impressive. The focus may not be a DSLR beater, but it was accurate (try that Nikon!). Files rendered beautifully at any ISO, whether Jpeg or RAW, and the low light performance was mind boggling.

caseydfine-1

The XE2 doesn’t do the same thing. I find the focus off quite frequently, and whilst the metering and DR are excellent the strange things that happen at ISO 800 and above are, well, strange.

chanel -1

I really did want a small camera that fits in a small bag and can go everywhere. And without going backward and buying an XPro or a NEX 7 – when the more current iterations of these cameras seem to have gone backward – I don’t think what I want is available to me right now.

erin1-1-2

As they say on Dragon’s Den ‘I’m Out’.

D8-1

🙂

3 comments on “Small Packages

  1. Laurent says:

    Great pictures! I am getting confused with the camera you currently own (or used to own). I think I need a timeline of your cameras for the last 3 years!

    • Tracy says:

      Thank You Laurent. I own two D800’s and a few lenses. I want a small ‘handbag’ camera, and have tested (loved and hated) many different brands and models. But, in reality the Nikon’s do everything I could ever require, and a small nifty would probably suffice, though never be handbag friendly 😉

  2. marla2008 says:

    Shooting a lowly NEX 5R this week and super impressed with that little guy. Bragging rights ? none, but fun -and deadly competent- sure.

Leave a Reply

