Baby Bazooka

DSC_0973

I thought I would have to wait longer for this ‘little’ lens to arrive in the post. But today it appeared, as if by magic!

DSC_0934

The parcel was really small, to the point that I thought it was actually something completely different, as the full frame alternative – Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 – is significantly bigger and heavier. I thought there would be less to distinguish them.

DSC_0969

For those potentially upgrading to FF it really is a bit of foolish purchase, unless weight is REAL issue, as it is specifically made for DX format bodies, like the D7000.

DSC_0963

On crop sensor bodies it supposedly performs better than its FF counterpart, but i’m sure that would be splitting hairs in real use.

DSC_0905-Edit

Still, right now I have a crop sensor body and the Sigma 50-150mm F 2.8 is half the price of its bigger brother, The Bazooka, and that suits my pocket right now. 

DSC_0929

How’d it do? Pretty good. I’m not blown away (as in the Sigma 100-300mm F4) but there is nothing to dislike at all. The focussing speed and acquisition, (and this is the non IS version i’m speaking of) , contrast, colour and sharpness are all subject to the same user flaws as any other lens.

DSC_0889

So…..am I happy? Yup. My crop sensor set up is growing, and whilst I really should refrain from DX lenses as a majority, this one is a perfect example of all that right with the smaller sensor format.

DSC_0937

Size/Weight, affordability and NEED. Yes folks, need, not desire. You read it here first. Lol. 

DSC_0986

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

