Bend It Like Beckham

I have come to the (temporary, i’m sure) conclusion that this is what is needed to wring the goodness from M43.

P1000926-Edit-Edit

It’s all there but you really need to be a bit of a superstar photog if shooting in diverse conditions. Poor lighting, moving targets – clearly I’m not talking about myself.

Of course there are those that do, and do so very well – the mind springs to www.jamestux.com/ or www.lindsaydobsonphotography.com/ and http://shutterleaf.co.uk/blog/ – fantastic photogs using mirrorless cameras in the Pro arena.

P1000742-Edit-Edit

The single most important thing, as per any system, but especially M43, given its sensor size, is lens choice.

P1000773-2

Now, I had the 75mm F1.8 and was perfectly happy with the results, but now I have the Olympus 60mm F2.8 macro, and whilst perfectly sharp and gorgeous in good light, low light – read any indoor light – sends the ISO into orbit and the shutter speed to the grave.

P1000955-Edit

I think its the equivalent of about 5.6 on FF. Yes, I know folks say F2.8 worth of light is the same on any format I am not convinced. On a D800 F2.8 wont record ISO’s of 10,000 I’ll wager.

P1000885-Edit-Edit

So for me, unless shooting with uber fast primes in reasonable light I will have to learn to bend light……….. (or maybe just off/on camera flash techniques)

😀

Leave a Reply

