Point & Shoot Me In The Right Direction

WARNING: MAY CONTAIN REALLY BORNG IMAGERY!!

P1040355 (2) (640x480)

Well, the debates rages on: which format, brand, camera, lens?  I could chase my tail indefinitely and still not come to any singular, definitive conclusion.

P1040325 (2) (640x480)

So far the list is topped by the Nikon D7100, looking back over the files last night I have to admit that it is unrivalled so far, even by it’s own big brother, the D600.

P1040343 (2) (480x640)

Next, The NEX 7. I thought I had made my mind up here, but a dodgy Ebay experience put paid to that and i’m back on the trail once again.

P1040274 (2) (480x640)

The G6, here is where I am stuck. As I have said in a previous post there is much good about this little machine , and when I look at the images I really see little wrong with them. Pretty sharp, no complaints about the colour or dynamic range etc. Yes, we all know the ISO performance is going to suck in comparison to any APSC (apart from Sammy maybe) format camera or larger, but really that is comparing apples to oranges

P1040323 (2) (480x640)

(ooh, look, ‘bokeh’ from a small sensor AND a slow aperture zoom, good god!!). I jest.

P1040329 (2) (640x480)

You have to take each camera at face value, ask yourself if it ticks all the relevant boxes for you and YOUR type of photography, and then maybe the choice will become clear.

P1040258 (2) (480x640)

That is utter crap by the way, but it sounds like good advice.

P1040332 (2) (480x640)

At the end of the day, there is more than one tool for the job and the hardest decision is not which CAMERA, it is which SYSTEM to buy into. To spend lots of dosh buying into system to then change your mind a year down the road would be a real pisser, would it not?

P1040431 (2) (480x640)

(once again, all images are SOOC…..that means unedited………..and from the Panasonic G6)

🙂

4 comments on “Point & Shoot Me In The Right Direction

  1. marla2008 says:

    Shit, why didn’t you show me shots like that from the Panny before ! Hell, I like them all 🙂 I think it’s a DAY camera. It does shine in daytime, it’s just low light that is rather sucky…

  2. Thank God! I actually thought that I alone could see the goodness. I am still undecided (the snob thing I think) and STILL haven’t tried a prime. My brain is soup – all this deliberating doesn’t help 😉

  3. laurent says:

    I like the colors a lot. That would be my camera if I had the dough.

  4. The G6? I heartily recommend it. Other’s have said the Jpeg rendering is awful, but I personally find it quite pleasing. It is still a tad expensive but I do actually plan to pick one up next year with the 14-140mm as my ‘day-tripping’ camera. I have issues currently with the weight of a DSLR when out all day with the kids, and the G6 is so tiny, yet so brilliantly functional. 🙂

Leave a Reply

