So, Maybe I Lied….

DINOTY2 (706x800)

…Maybe I’m not a Pentaxian after all. I was all gung-ho about it, I have used a Pentax k30 and Pentax K01 previously and loved them both (still not Sony though) , but, and there is a but, there is an elephant in the room.

DSC_0026 (2) (800x533)

I got to thinking about, and after searching for the sort of lenses I would ordinarily have my eye on – 35mm 1.8, 50mm 1.8, 85mm 1.8 etc I found that they either didn’t exist and/or that the nearest equivalents (ie 43mm 1.9) are priced at double and sometimes more than the Canikon and Sony looky likeys.

DSC_0245 (2) (640x408) (640x408)

Considering that I had chosen Pentax as the package which seemed to offer great value to performance ratio, all of a sudden it didn’t seem to be stacking up in my favour.

DINOTY1 (608x800)

Enter the interloper – Nikon D7100 – I have previously tried and failed to love the legendary ‘budget’ full frame D600, so I certainly had no great expectations that I would find this lower class body as good, if not better.

untitled (533x800)

Wrong – once up and running I did a few test runs between the Pentax K30 and D7100, both with 50mm f1.4 lenses and as I had noticed prior, the K30 images seemed muddy. In comparison the D7100 was singing.

DSC_0069 (2) (800x533) (800x533)

I double checked my results with my friend Claire www.itsnotthecamera.wordpress.com and she concurred (I won’t repeat her exact words) that the Pentax had to go. And go it will.

DSC_0334 (2) (800x533)

(At least I hope it will!)

untitled-6 (800x530)

So (for now) I am a Nikonian. I’ve joined the masses, bowed to the hype and now go in search of the perfect budget zoom lens. I know they aren’t popular but on a trip round the Zoo with three kids under five I’m not stoppin’ to change lenses every five minutes, and no, I am not remortgaging for the 70-400g f2.8 or somesuch.

DSC02603 (2) (532x800)

😀

4 comments on “So, Maybe I Lied….

  1. marla2008 says:

    I said the vs. the D7100, the K30 looked “like crud”, and I stand by it, lol. The Ty Dino shots are absolutely brilliant (regardless of gear), but the cleanliness and clarity of the Nikon shots are just stunning. For the love of God forget the horrid superzooms. Get the excellent discontinued Nikkor 18-70 F:3.5-4.5, the best kit lens Nikon ever came with, and that can be had for peanuts. If you want bleeding sharp and affordable, just grab a Nikkor 35-70/2.8, yes it’s a push pull I’m not too fond of, but optically it can’t be faulted, and as a side benefit can be used to club any offender half to death. Or at least unconscious). Need reach ? Don’t fall to get the epic Nikkor 70-210 F:4 that is just the best bang any buck can buy. So as you’ll discover Nikon is a very friendly territory for glass lovers. R.I.P. Pentax 😉

  2. laurent says:

    Having a long term plan for lens needs and including them in the “hobby” budget seems like a smart plan . I thought about going Nikon initially, but my issue was, at the entry level, the 3000 and 5000 series only take AF-s lenses, which reduces the choice and increases the prices. I think the D7100 is a smart choice, since it uses all AF and AF-s lenses. I would have gone Nikon if I had the $$ for the 7000 series last year.

    Enjoy your new camera!

    I am also looking for a used cheap zoom lens (Canon) for wide angles (I only own a 50 mm 1.8), until I can afford a decent 28 or 30 mm.

    the Dinosaur pic is specially cute.

  3. You are right Laurent, the entry level Nikon bodies make it more expensive in some ways than the mid range in terms of lenses, being that the bodies are without AF motor (archaic). And, in the case of the D7100, I think there are some potential benefits over the D600, namely the AF module/layout.

    But, the lenses, in comparison to Pentax and MILC are relatively cheap, which is how I ended up here with the Nikon D7100.

    In terms of wide angle, the new Sigma 18-35mm F1.8 looks pretty interesting…………though pretty expensive too 😦

  4. laurent says:

    Yep, 800 bucks, sounds like a bit too much for me. My good old nifty fifty will have to make the job for a few more months

Leave a Reply

