MacrOphOtO

IMGP0369 (2) (800x530)

I acquired a dedicated macro lens for the Pentax K30 and actually chose it over a standard nifty as I was curious to try a different focal length as well as macro. The lens is the well regarded Sigma 70mm f2.8 and it the first AF lens I have used on the Pentax.

IMGP0415 (2) (800x530)

The FL is said to be great for portrait too, but given its widest aperture is f2.8 its not great for indoor shooting without flash, especially in my dingy living room. I have taken a few snaps of the kids, but I have mostly concentrated on inanimate and generally uninspiring items as you can see. Key fobs, flowers, bits of fencing, breadsticks, tiny plastic dinosaurs…..

IMGP0407 (2) (800x530)

Well…..what do I know about Macro? I don’t do bugs.

The lens is superb in the areas it’s meant to be, close focussing, sharpness – in spite of the anorexic DOF – contrast and colour. Cant fault it.

IMGP0370 (2) (530x800)

There are a couple of downsides, which I presume are down to the lens, though id have to test another AF lens on the K30 to be sure. It does lock on focus very quickly, only to find upon reviewing that a number of shots are out of focus. I have read that this is a known flaw.

IMGP0386 (2) (800x530)

If changing focus point from near to far it takes an age, racking back and forth until it hits the spot. But saying that, its another common fact of macro lenses in this focal length range.

IMGP0518 (2) (587x800)

So, is macro for me?

IMGP0313 (2) (800x530) (800x530)

Not really. Its fun, but unless you really want to concentrate on flowers and bugs its not really necessary to have a dedicated macro lens in the bag. The AF is too slow  and the widest aperture is never going to be wide enough for a portraitist.

IMGP0502 (2) (800x530)

Now…………….where’d I put that nifty?

🙂

One comment on “MacrOphOtO

Leave a Reply

